That’s What Living Is To Me

May 2, 2010 at 5:27 pm | Posted in 5k, Blogroll, Cross Training, Half-Marathon, Music | 4 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,
Be good and you will be lonesome
Be lonesome and you will be free
Live a lie and you will live to regret it
That’s what livin’ is to me
That’s what livin’ is to me
~Jimmy Buffett

So…I’m still missing my little tab from wordpress…but I’ve discovered a way to fix it on my own, so HA!

Moving right along.

Running Week:

Whew, boy did I run this week! I ran more this weekend than I did all of last week. Well maybe that’s because I needed a rest…but still.

I informed you about the 4.5 miles of awesome and the 3 miles of crap with pepper-spray lossage.

Did I mention they found it? Yeah. Got my pepper spray back so yay for that.

Thursday and Friday I rested again, partly do to weather, partly due to work beating the crap out of me. Blah.

Saturday was cross-training day and MAN did I have an awesome day. I hiked one of the toughest sections of the AT. See “Other Junk” for that report.

Today I did a rockin 7 miler. I knew it was going to be hot, so I got up around 7am. When I opened my front door…it was like stepping in to a sauna!

I had planned my route so that I did 4 miles, ending back at the house so I could grab a drink, then went out for another 3.

That was a good plan because the humidity darn near killed me! I am NOT a warm-weather runner. I do better in mild or cold weather. Cool or chilly works best for me. Hot weather or humid running…slows me down quite a bit.

What about you? I wanna hear your best/worst running conditions!!!

So I did my first 4, came back and gulped down some ice water. Then out I went for the last 3. It was an uneventful run overall, but I did pass a man working at one of the college’s facilities, he asked how far I was running and I told him 7.

He was quite impressed. Haha. It was just one of those moments that puts a smile on your face. When running away from him I kept thinking to myself “He asked how far I was RUNNING, not ‘jogging’, not ‘going’ even, he said ‘running'” Little things like that still make me smile…and still make me feel like yeah…I AM a runner.

What makes you guys feel like a real “RUNNER”. Do you remember the first time you felt like you could call yourself a runner? Does it matter? Is there a difference? I wanna hear what you think!

So with my little compliment in my head I finished my run…absolutely SOAKED with sweat thanks to the humidity…and came in to see just how bad it was out there.

Yeah, that says 75% humidity!!!

Yeah, that says 75% humidity!!!

 I nearly fell over when I read that. But hey, I did  7 miles in 75% humidity. I’m ready for whatever summer has in store!

I’m also going to find a pool…haha.

Knitting Week:

Not a lot of knitting again, but I did spin some! Also, my editor for the Striders Newsletter that I write for is a spinner as well…she is at the Maryland Sheep and Wool festival this weekend and I am BEYOND jealous.

However…she texted today to say that she was bringing one of her mother’s old spinning wheels home to LOAN ME SO I CAN LEARN TO SPIN ON IT!!!!!!!!!!!!

Yes, yes I did stand in the middle of my house and SQUEE very, very loudly.

Dream coming true. Check.

Editor of awesomeness. Check.

Favorite:

This week’s favorite HAS to be my new addiction. Steep and cheap. Thanks to Tri Girl.

I can’t remember if she mentioned it, but I’ve also found Gear Scan and can’t stop checking that either. It’s now part of my home page tabs.

These sites are all discount outdoor gear type sites. Gear Scan is awesome because it shows you 6 of these sites ALL at once. It shows you the price, the time left, and how many of that item they have left.

Steep and cheap is my favorite because it has the most stuff that I would buy. Just about everything that pops up on there, I want. From North Face Denali jackets, to sleeping bags to tents…I want it ALL.

The current deal is some trekking poles for 70 bucks. 50% off.

If you’ve never seen these one-deal-at-a-time sites…GO CLICK!!! They are legit and AWESOME.

I can speak for Steep and Cheap especially because last week I bought my new best friend from there!

Camelbak Fairfax Hydration Pack

Camelbak Fairfax Hydration Pack

Yeah. I got me a Camelbak! That way for the half in June…which IS a trail run…I’m prepared. I had a fuel belt…but it had the one BIG thing of water on the back…and it bugged me. This is much, much better.

Retails for around 45 bucks. I paid 20 on Steep and cheap. HA! Winner.

AND you can combinde shipping. I stopped myself there for now though.

My camelbak arrived Thursday…just in time for my hike this weekend…which we will now discuss!

Other Junk:

Well I had an awesome Sautrday. I got together with some of the Striders and we hit the trails. Myself and two other Striders met at 9:30 to hike up to Dragon’s Tooth. One of the hardest hikes on the Appalachain Trail. 🙂

It’s a really technical hike and in some places they have put in metal bars to help hikers get up the rocks.

La Bars

La Bars

 My main reason for wanting to do this hike…was I had tried TWICE before…with Tracy…and never made it to the top. The first time, we had to make it home to have dinner with mom and we were losing daylight.

The second time he got sick.

So this was my third attempt. Both times I’d made it to the same spot, the fire circle where the Dragon’s Tooth trail hits the AT.

There was NO way I wasn’t going to make it this time. I informed my hiking companions of such, announcing I would leave their butts if I had to!

I was mostly kidding. Mostly. 🙂

On the way up we saw some really pretty flowers, including a Ladyslipper! I was quite excited.

I’m going to put all the pictures at the end…and just talk about the hike for now.

So we reached the fire circle and I proclaimed that this was as far as I’d ever gotten. So on we forged…and the terrain changed QUICKLY.

It pretty much turns in to all rocks in some places.

I apparently…am part mountain goat. Every time the path forked, I took the higher, harder, rockier path. I had a distinct desire to go UP at all possible locations.

We had one moment where we weren’t really sure where the trail went…and I proceeded to climb up a rock wall. So I got some free climbing in as well. It was pretty fun!

I decided at this point, that I would shun the metal bars. I didn’t need some man-made crap to make my way to the top of a mountain, no thank you! So when we ran in to the hand-holds…I found ways around every time. I shun the bars! HA!

We finally got to the top, and could see the actual rock formation that gives the hike it’s name.

Of course, I climbed that too. I made my hiking companions a bit nervous climbing almost all the way to the top. However while scrambling around on a bit of rock, I looked over the edge and I saw what I KNEW could only be one thing…a Geocache!

I instantly jumped over the ledge to grab the cache. And gave my friends a heart attack at the same time. Haha.

But I got the cache! I was pleased.

I also met a nice little salamander whom I named Fred.

After that, we headed back down. It was getting HOT out. We picked a great time of day to go. Not too many hikers at the top, and more people going up as we went down, and down as we went up! It was great.

So let’s get to the pictures!

Ladyslipper!

Ladyslipper!

Rocky much?

Rocky much?

Awesome view, and not even at the top yet!

Awesome view, and not even at the top yet!

I know where I'm going!

I know where I'm going!

Don't look down!

Don't look down!

I'm so proud!!!

I'm so proud!!!

The famous tooth!

The famous tooth!

Say hello to Fred! I met him on my scamble to the tooth!

Say hello to Fred! I met him on my scamble to the tooth!

Me, sitting on the tooth!

Me, sitting on the tooth!

This is where I found the geocache, and promptly jumped over a ledge.

This is where I found the geocache, and promptly jumped over a ledge.

LOOK WHAT I FOUND!!!

LOOK WHAT I FOUND!!!

Standing on the tooth. I win.

Standing on the tooth. I win.

You had to climb up and under this rock and pop out the top. I was highly amused by this.

You had to climb up and under this rock and pop out the top. I was highly amused by this.

I liked this massive rock ledge. :) Part mountain goat...

I liked this massive rock ledge. 🙂 Part mountain goat...

 

This is where I made my own trail, up a rock. You can't really tell, but it's all rock, nothing to really do but find a hand hold and scramble.

This is where I made my own trail, up a rock. You can't really tell, but it's all rock, nothing to really do but find a hand hold and scramble.

I win. Again.

I win. Again.

 Seriously…I realize more every day how much I love hiking. I love running…and just about anything that lets me be outside.

I’m also realizing that whoever I date…needs to enjoy at least ONE of those things. They don’t necessarily have to be a runner…but I think they have to like hiking. I enjoy running alone. Not so much hiking alone.

But I’m about to solve that issue…more on that next time. 🙂

Sorry I’ve Been a Stranger Shoutout:

This week’s shoutout goes to my awesome cousin Chrissy. First off you have NO IDEA how excited I was to get a comment from you on my blog this week!!! I squealed.

Yes, I need to come visit. I would like to publically announce that I have been a BAD, BAD cousin and I haven’t been down in forever AND I need to help with the wedding planning and….yeah. I’m a bad cousin.

But it’s ALMOST summer and so far I have NO summer job so….I’ll be down sometime after June 7th. You tell me when.

And we can go hiking!!!! Yes?!?!?! Haha.

And yes, I WILL bring you some granola. And give you the recipe. And come visit. And not be a stranger anymore.

Later guys!

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I went running yesterday morning and it was so hot and humid. My phone told me the weather was 50F so I put on my long sleeved shirt to find out it was 65 and freaking hot! Not the greatest clothing choice I’ve made. Today was a nice 4 miles on the treadmill inside though. Too bad the gym has stopped carrying towels. Gross….

    Glad you got your pepper spray back 😉 Lol. It’s my little safety blanket.

  2. I didn’t know about Gear Scan, but I do now! Woohoo! 🙂

  3. Of course I read! This is after all my way of keeping up with you

  4. isnt that hydration pack a lil overwhelmingly heavy on your back? Haha I have been wondering if i can have that instead for my mary but you know what, next time for trail – maybe.

    hey lady! give me tips! mary in a week’s time!! hit me a message. 😛

    when do you take those salt packs (err.. ive read there are those who even eat potato chips on the road) and when its time to eat some gu?

    kas


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

