Live and Learn

February 7, 2010 at 3:45 pm | Posted in Blogroll, Music, People I Meet, running | 5 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Man, a lot to talk about this week.

Also…had a lot of time on my hands this week, what with the 2-3 feet of snow since the last post.

Quick snow summary:

Snowed Friday night/Saturday, school closed Mon-Wed. Went for 5 hours on Thursday. Closed again today. More snow and ice today. Haven’t seen the floor of my back deck since November. Has been covered in snow since then.

So instead of the Work Week we will have….

Snow Week:

Well, Saturday *last week, 1st snow* was sledding and snowboarding with the neighbors. Or rather attempted sledding/snowboarding. It was the dry, light, powdery snow that wasn’t even good for snowball making. Tragic. So…the 3 of us trooped around town…did a little B&E….

There’s a very creepy looking house nearby…that’s empty and…scary looking. So…we decided to look in the windows…and I apparently have the least fear in the group, because I managed to get a door open. 🙂 So we snooped around. Nothing really interesting, but we did trade ghost stories and managed to scare ourselves slightly.

After playing in the snow...my pants were frozen solid.

After playing in the snow...my pants were frozen solid.

Sunday…I think there was a lot of sleeping. I’m not sure. Monday I finally managed to get OUT of my driveway. Let me tell you it was SKETCHY. I got to go to lunch with the bestest, then talked her in to coming over that night! It sleeted/snowed Tuesday night so yet again, no school. Tuesday’s activities involved the Y, so more on that later.

Digging the car out.

Digging the car out.

Wednesday was another snow day, so I went up to visit the bestest for lunch yet again, and FINALLY was able to get in and out of my driveway without sliding in to a ditch!!! SUCCESS!

Thursday we had a 2 hour delay…and did some other activities of questionable legallity with the neighbor…and then Friday…..snow. Lots.

The car was re-burried. Not cool.

The car was re-burried. Not cool.

So far today I’ve cleared the snow off the heat pump because the news told me that was a good plan. During that adventure in to the outdoors, I learned a few things. 1) Knee high boots do not help in snow that is over your knees. 2) Dustpan = snow shovel in a pinch.

Actually I learned #2 back in December when we had the first 18 inch snow.

Also, made a pretty rockin snowman. Good times.

Snowman!!! I shall name him Bob.

Snowman!!! I shall name him Bob.

The news said Vancover has gotten around 2 inches of snow this winter so far….we’ve had 26. What now, winter Olympics!?!?!

Anyway.

Knitting Week:

Lots happening there. Did a little spinning, talked to some lovely ladies over on Rav and got some thoughts on my spinning. STILL haven’t dropped the drop spindle yet…but might get brave.

Finshed baby berry hat #2 and started #3. It should be done later today.

What what? Both baby hats done!!!

What what? Both baby hats done!!!

Also got a good portion of the Hokie scarf done for Aunt’s charity auction. Kind of gave up on the scarf that is a present for her…It’s angered me to the point of non-knittage.

Almost done!!!

Almost done!!!

Might do some sock work today too for lack of better options.

Also, the cat stole a knitting needle at one point this week and entertained himself greatly.

Workout Week:

Well I was doing pretty awesome up until yesterday! Every day I did some kind of workout, EVEN with the snow!!! I got The Firm’s Power Yoga on DVD from Netflix…and that thing is AWESOME. I did that at least 4 times this week.

Also did some kickboxing and lower body work.

On Monday I went to the YMCA with Carly. I now officially heart the Y. Carly got on the treadmill, and I got on an elliptical and every 10 minutes we traded for 40 minutes. It was a REALLY good workout.

The Y also has 2 NICE indoor pools…so I could train for my tri. Carly is probably doing one too!!!!!! WHOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

And the Y offers some great classes that all start around 5pm so I could actually get there AFTER school.

So if they accept my financial aid request application thingy….then I’m going to join. I…just can’t pay full price. With my student loans, medical bills, and credit card debt…*shudder* No.

But anyway, love the Y. Really hope I can afford to join. Mmmm pool.

Favorite:

Hmm, this week’s favorite would have to be Kim’s Quick Chili. It’s REALLY quick and easy and the local Minute Market carries all the necessary ingredients!!! Granted, it’s not my dad’s amazing chili, but this only takes about 30 minutes to cook. 🙂 Sometimes quick is best.

So I shall now share the recipe. It’s kind of Kim’s…and kind of mine. Kim found the recipe in a magazine…and if I remember correctly this magazine was in a Dr’s office and she ripped the page out because it looked so good. 🙂 But anyway, we’ve since lost both the magazine and actual recipe so we’re mostly going on memory…and guesstimation and taste. 🙂

Kim’s Superfab Speedy Chili:

1 lb Ground Beef *or ground turkey!*
1 16oz Jar Salsa
1 Can Tomato Juice
1 Onion Diced
1 Green Pepper Diced
1-2 Cloves Garlic Minced
2 Tbs Chili Powder
1 tsp Cumin
1 Tbs Olive Oil
1/2 tsp Garlic Powder

In a large pot, brown beef in olive oil. Once it is browned, add onion, pepper, and garlic and sautee until onions are golden/clear. Add all other ingredients. Bring to a boil and stir every 2-3 mintues. Add any other spices and salt or pepper to taste.

Enjoy!

Other Junk:

Not a lot to report. Most of it was covered in the Snow Week. 🙂 I did help my neighbor put together some rockin good surprises for her boyfriend’s birthday. One of the surprises….well…it involved a lot of heavy lifting, and putting things in the trunk/back seat of my car that I never thought would fit there. If you really want to hear the story, email me. I’m going to try and not publically incriminate myself.

But man I was proud of our accomplishment. I can’t wait to see how he likes his present.

I also helped her make a cake to surprise him with so that was fun.

Mmmm cake...

Mmmm cake...

Now…I just have to get some school work done, then I’m going to knit through the superbowl.

GO COLTS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

And then…I am going to pray for a 2 hour delay tomorrow. 🙂 I can’t help it. As much as I hate giving up my spring break for snow days…I love unplanned time off.

Also I don’t think I have a  prayer of getting out of my driveway until Tuesday at the earliest. It’s kinda nasty still.

So we’ll see what happens! It would be nice if the snow would go away so I can go running.

But oh, wait. It’s supposed to snow AGAIN next weekend.

Anyway.

Scrappy Shoutout:

This week’s shoutout goes to Teri. First off, THANKS for all the email love and hugs and checking in on me!!! That made my day. You are awesome. Also…the vet thing…UBER awesome. So thanks for keeping me entertained this week, and making me smile. 🙂

Have a good one, guys!!

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Wow you have had a busy week! That cake looks really good 😉

  2. crazy about the snow. up here in NE we haven’t gotten any of it because it’s actually too cold for the storms to make it. weird right?

  3. Wait a minute…they have financial aid at the Y??

  4. Woo hoo I love my shoutout :):) special 🙂
    You appear to be doing well! Im sure those around you can tell better; But im thrilled to see you are so busy and upbeat. Youre doing fine 😀 keep it up!

  5. I totally love your cat! Nice video.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

