Mountainside

July 15, 2009 at 8:13 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Well it’s been too many Sundays since I took the time to laugh
And I’d take a small vacation if I could save up the cash…

                                                              ~Bonepony

 

Well I took a small vacation!!! Because I couldn’t save up the cash for a real one….but that’s ok.

But first we’ll go over the “long” run of the weekend. I say “long” run because it REALLY didn’t feel like it was that long and I felt like it should have been longer. I guess I have the idea in my head that if I’m doing a LR, it should FEEL like a LR. It should hurt. And this all goes against what I preach at mom about not overdoing it and being careful…so yeah.

Carly and I did 6 miles. Ok Carly did 9.5, I did the last 6 with her because it’s been a long time since I’ve ran more than 4. And apparently I should have tried for 7 or 8. I felt fine. Granted it’s partially because it was a SLOW long run. But…that’s how I plan to run my marathon so that’s fine. We did really well. The only issue I had was some small blisters that appeared in their usual places. I blame the new socks I tried.

They were DeFeet Speede socks. And I don’t so much blame them as I do my own stupidity. I bought a size small because they didn’t have any extra small’s. And I KNOW I have small feet. I am a small-ish type person. My running shoes are around a 7 or 7.5 and my regular shoes are a 6. Little feet.

So the morning of the run when I put on my new socks…I knew RIGHT AWAY that they were too loose. But I continued and ran with them anyway. AND didn’t use body glide on my notorious blister spots.

And guess what!

I GOT BLISTERS!!!!!!!!!! Duh, Courtney.

But other than the last .5 miles of running it was awesome!!! I’m going to try to do 8 this weekend and get back on track for my marathon plan. I’m behind right now, did I mention that? BEHIND. Not good. Very concerning for my first full. Part of me thinks “HOLY CRAP I’M OFF SCHEDULE I AM GOING TO DIE!!!”. The other part says “Hey, you’ve done 2 halfs. You’ve done a tri. You have been undertrained before and you still pulled through. You can walk parts. You don’t have to go fast. It’ll be ok”.

I don’t listen to that last part as much…maybe I should…but I’m still really concerned. Maybe it’s because I don’t have a set in stone marathon plan. I’m still kind of flitting between two or three. Because I am behind. This was my FIRST long run, ok? The marathon is Oct 25. FIRST LONG RUN!!! First LR should have been in JUNE. I’m about 4-5 weeks behind. 14 weeks till the race.

But…I can’t turn back time so we’ll go on.

So the first long run went well. And my goal today is to get my marathon plan recorded. So I should feel better. Oh, and here’s my FAAAAVORITE post-run snack. I’ve probably posted this before but pshh, you’ll deal.

Ok the camera battery is dead so I can’t get the picture on here. I’ll do that later. But it’s a strawberry and orange protein shake (my recipe!) and a graham cracker with peanut butter. Mmmm. SO good.

Other than the LR, I did take a mini-vacation this weekend. The boyfriend and I went berry picking and I managed not to die climbing down the mini-mountain the berries were on! Why berries have to grow on the freaking face of a mountain I do not know but it is quite frustrating. I want to eat them, but do I have to risk my life to do so?!?! Apparently so. And Carly and I are going to go pick more later this week.

Also, the boyfriend and I played golf!! Ok, he played, I rode in the cart and took pictures. It was a BEAUTIFUL day, perfect for golf!!! I love golf, but…I am just NO GOOD. So I love watching and riding in the cart. And no, I do not drive the cart. I do not like to and I do not want to and if I can avoid it, I will not drive it at all. Not even 2 feet. No. I like to RIDE. I am driven. I do not do the work. 🙂

So once the camera battery gets over itself, some of my awesome pictures shall be uploaded below!

Oh, one more thing!!! Does anyone else find short runs harder than long runs sometimes? All the time? Any time? I SWEAR my long runs are ALWAYS more enjoyable and easier than my 3 mile morning runs!! Maybe I go faster on the 3 milers, but I swear it’s not that much. My 5K PR is around 27:00 and that’s not even that fast. Maybe it’s the mindset, maybe I’m going absurdly slow on the 6 mile run…but I LOVE my long runs usually. Short runs…3 or 4 miles….BLAH. Not fun at all. Anyone else have this issue??

Ok, that’s it for now. Have a good week, kids!!!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

