Funny How Time Slips Away

July 8, 2009 at 9:43 am | Posted in 5k, Training | 4 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Yeah, I know, I know.

First, a quick photo update…. (I say quick, but adding these pictures takes forever.)

I graduated.

I hiked.

My sister had a party.

My sister got married.

Carly and I went to the beach.

I hiked again.

I ran a 5K with mom. She won her age group.

I ran another 5K with mom. She won the Masters category and I got 2nd in my age group.

And I ran one more 5K with mom and Carly. Carly won our age group, mom won hers, and I came closer to my PR than I have in 3 years. 35 seconds away. Screw the age group, that rocks.

I rode Carly’s ponay. πŸ™‚

I also moved twice (Don’t Ask.), went to 2 other weddings, celebrated my dad’s birthday, and did a lot of other crap that has kept me absurdly busy.

SO. That is where I have been for the last 2 months.

I have been ignoring my computer a lot so that makes it hard to keep up with the blog. Also, since I’m going to be working soon…my first real job…and let’s just say it involves a high school…I’m not sure what to do about the blog. It’s not really professional or that nice…and I’m pretty sure I don’t want my students to find me…Or their parents.

But I doubt they could. I’ve never posted my full name…I just talk about my life and my running. And I don’t know that I really want to transition to making this a cut and dry professional blog. If I’m going to write in a proper format and about specifictopics, that will probably be for the Striders newsletter.

Sooo….I think…I’m going to try and keep up with the blog, and keep this personal, and keep my professional life out of it. Granted I’m going to want to complain and talk about it, for sure…but I’m going to try and do that elsewhere. It’s not appropriate for a public forum such as this.

What do you guys think? Yes? No? Maybe? Get rid of the blog? Keep the blog? Actually write in the blog regularly??? Haha.

Mind you, I don’t write much about my personal life in here, but still, my weekend runs and my friendships…I’d really like to keep those away from my work. And the pictures. Pictures of people running…are not flattering. Since I’m still young I feel like I need to put in even more effort to appear professional than someone 10 or 15 years my senior. So I’d really like to keep my work relations away from this blog. We’ll see how it goes.

Well, in running news, training for the MCM has not been going so well. With everything else, I have not had a lot of time. I have been running regularly, as you can see, for the last month or two, but no real long runs. I’m going to try for 6 miles on Saturday but I think I should be closer do doing 9. Ugh. I am mildly worried. I’m going to have to talk to some people who have done a full before and see if I’m going to be in trouble.

MCM isn’t until October so I do have a few months, but still. I need to be further ahead right now. I also need to figure out how much pain I can expect the day after. I need to know if I should go ahead and take that day off work, or if I’m going to be in pain, but able to sit at work for the day. OH, good. Just looked and I’ve got a half day of work that day anyway. Excellent. So hopefully I can tough it out. After my 2 half’s, I was fine. But…I’m doing double that.

Yes, I need to consult some experts.

Well, speaking of work, I need to go get some done. Enjoy the update!!!!!! Hopefully another will soon follow! Maybe after the long run on Saturday!

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. COOOOOONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!

    My friend is getting married and its my birthday soon.. yes, no .. its not me who’s getting married! :)) Lol.

    IM STILL ENVIOUS you get to finish a 5k and a half marathon already, time flew so fast and im stuck on working on a 5k just becuase there’s too much hiatus going on.. grrr… grrr.. grrr!!

    but.. CONGRATULATIONS!!

  2. dont you dare get rid of this blog!! you’re my cheerleader! LOL. πŸ˜›

  3. I concur with Chefsy! Keep the site. πŸ™‚

    as we say in the philippines, CONGRATS!!! ( a shortened version of the word)

  4. Hey nice to see what you have been up to πŸ˜‰
    I dont think you have to remove the blog; everyone blogs. Just remember who might read it and don’t post photos you would not be proud of. But the rest is your personal business. I like seeing you here πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

