Jingle Bells, Jingle Bells

December 13, 2008 at 2:47 pm | Posted in 5k | 4 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

We jingled all the way through our 5K!!!!

MOM RAN HER FIRST RACE!!!! YAY MOM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

It was a CHILLY CHILLY start. Really chilly. So lots of layers were needed. Here’s me and mom at the start…

Here’s another with our jingle bells on.

So then the race began, there were around 1000 people give or take there. We took it kind of slow since this was mom’s first race. I stayed with her for the entire thing because I’m racing again tomorrow so I just had a nice 3 mile jog. šŸ™‚ Mom did REALLY well. She ran the ENTIRE way which was WAY BETTER than my first 5K!!!!

There were 3 or 4 major hills but she toughed it out. I kept talking to her the whole time and encouraged her. I hope it helped, she was a little too frozen and winded to tell me if it was helping or to even tell me to shut my trap but I kept on! šŸ™‚ I told some of my favorite “run lies” to her that I tell myself…like “This is the last hill!!!” when it really isn’t. šŸ™‚ Anyone else lie to themselves?? Haha.

So anyway, she did manage to run the whole way and I hope I helped some…I tried. She did really well. We got to the finish and she picked it up some!!!! I was so proud. šŸ™‚

Can you spot us?!?!?!?

We finished together in 37:08. Both exactly the same!!! YAY US!!!!!!!

And you know what’s awesome? If mom had been 6 seconds faster, she would have gotten 3rd in her age group. THIRD!!!! So she was FOURTH in her very first ever 5K!!!!! I ws 5th in mine. šŸ™‚

MOM I’M SO PROUD OF YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

ā¤

Ā 

******EDIT*******

So I just went back through my logs…and my first 5k? 37:02. Six seconds faster than mom’s first…. šŸ™‚ Pretty darn cool.

******EDIT AGAIN*******

So. Just realized I was so excited about mom’s race I forgot that this race was special for me too. THIS WAS MY GOAL RACE TODAY!!!! This made my goal for the year complete, because this was my 8th race in 2008!!!!! YAY ME!!!!!!! I MET MY GOAL!!!!!!!!!!! And tomorrow…if I feel up to it…I’m going to hit 9 races in 08!!! šŸ™‚

Good times. šŸ™‚

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Wow, your mom did an amazing job on her first 5k! So cool that you were able to help her through it, too.

  2. That is soo awesome you ran with your mom.You gotta be proud of her!!

  3. The write up of the race is great! I love the pictur of you and your mom with the jingle bells and the snow flake effect! I bet you are really proud of your mom– hopefully she’ll this will be anything but her last race!

  4. Court,
    I am so proud of you for being such a super coach!! I could never have done it without you!!
    I love you so much!
    Love,
    Mom


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

