Do A Little Dance…

July 21, 2008 at 3:17 pm | Posted in Cross Training, running, Training | 3 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Ok well that was Friday.

I did quite a lot of dancing at The Embers concert. AMAZING time with the best friend. My parents were there, his parents, lots of high school people’s parents *yes, I hang out with old people*, my former boss…so it was fun.

Danced all night.

So Saturday…there was some PAIN in the left hip flexor/IT band…not sure which it was but it hurt. Not terrible but I thought (especially after the 4-Mile Friday) a rest day was in order.

Plus it’s better to fool around with my “schedule” now than mid-way through.

Yes, that’s right. We are now embarking on the Half-Marathon Training!!!

Not sure which half though. Something in November. My friend decided not to do the Richmond Half so I may still do it…or may not….there’s a local half too around then…so….we shall see.

But so anyway, we moved the “start” of the half training from Saturday to Sunday.

So Sunday I ran 2 miles!!!!

At 6pm when it was 92 degrees out. Insanity.

I almost died. I won’t lie, there was walking. And 10 minute miles. And some anger. But I DID IT!!!!

Then….today was cross training day with Trainer. And per my (idiotic) request we did a pool workout.

Just…wow. I used to be on the swim team but….that was many years ago…..and I have basically forgotten how to breathe while swimming. Thankfully no lifeguard was necessary but I was SLOOOOOOW. But it was still awesome. I liked doing the kickboard work best. (Gee, no face in the water…wonder why I liked it) My legs are pretty strong so those was also my fastest laps.

We did some different drills and I ended up swimming about a half mile…which is kinda sad but…for my first serious swim since…2001ish….hey, not bad.

And I feel AWESOME today, by the way.

No, I’m still totally not sleeping through the night. But I feel good. (And I just got your note, Erika. Great timing. I’ll work on that. *says to self I AM a BAMF….I AM*) I actually feel great today. Better than I have in MONTHS. I don’t know what is causing this but I’m keeping my fingers crossed that it keeps up. šŸ™‚

So, to recap…4 miles and 3 hours of dancing Friday, 2 miler to begin the half training Sunday, and a rockin pool workout today! Good week so far!!!

…Get Down Tonight

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. JUST DO IT! :o)

    Glad you had fun, girl!

    Walking isn’t that bad šŸ™‚ that true, YOU DID IT!

    I went swimming yesterday and I really have to work on tons of breathing, I HAVE FORGOTTEN how its like to breath rightly on water LONGER. pfft!

  2. Good Stuff courtney! Even in the heat where I am I walk a lot but it is much better then lying on the side of the road, so you did the right thing. Half Marathon here you come! šŸ˜‰

  3. congrats on deciding to do a half marathon! you’ll do awesome! i’m so jealous of your swimming training-my gym is moving to a place in november where they will have a pool and i can’t wait! it’s such a great workout!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

