Miles To Go Before I Sleep

June 12, 2008 at 9:55 am | Posted in Cross Training, running, Training | 4 Comments
Tags: , , , , , ,

I did a quick one mile warm up this morning. I tried to really push my pace despite the muggy 75 degree temps outside. I did my mile in 8:10 which is pretty good for me. If I ever get my mile time down to 7:00 I’ll be thrilled.

Right now consistantly being around 8:00 makes me happy though. It’s WAY better than anything I ever did in high school though. Speaking of high school, I really need to go run on a track somtime…and see what happens onΒ a flat surface.

So after my run I did about 30-40 min of abs and upper body. Pretty good for today.

Good news: I DID take pictures of the park that I run in…so next time I run there I shall post them. Maybe tomorrow…

In other news…I miss sleeping. I haven’t gotten a full nights sleep in almost…what…2 months? I wake up every night at 3 or 5. It used to be 2am and 4am. Either way…I’m SO not happy. I’ve tried EVERYTHING.

…Yoga before bed

…Doing the same thing every night before bed

…Relaxing and watching TV and winding down for at least an hour before bed

…Eating dried cherries (melatonin) before bed

…Eating real cherries before bed

…Not eating sugar/caffiene before bed

…Not eating before bed

…Getting up early

…Staying up late

…Wearing myself out during the day

…Doing nothing all day

…Prayer

…Reading

…Sleeping alone

…Sleeping without my cats in the room

…Sleeping with the AC up high

…Glass of wine with dinner

…Unisom

…Sleeping with the tv on

…Sleeping with the tv off

…A new freaking bed

And has any of it made ANY difference????

NO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

It’s not falling asleep that is the issue, I do that fine. It’s waking up in the middle of the night that’s a problem. Then it takes a half hour to hour to get BACK to sleep.

That’s just downright not peaceful and a crappy quality of sleep.

I miss sleep.

I shall leave you with some pictures from my hike yesterday.

Β Draper Mt

That is the view off Draper Mtn.

Random Chimney

There were ruins of old houses…

Semi Circle

Cool little stone benches. Apparently there used to be a church up here or something? There were bathrooms too…

High up

View from the top.

That’s it!!

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hey, 8:10 is awesome! My mile is up around 8:50 or so. 😦 I’d love to get it down to 8 minutes!

    Sucks about the sleeplessness, though. Have you talked to a doctor about it?

    BTW-thank you for all the words of encouragement! They really make a difference!

  2. Hi Girl,

    I feel you about having yourself pick up your endurance all because your body gave up on some sickness but hey, we’ve got that being active to thank for, imagine if we weren’t or you weren’t as much active, perhaps whatever sickness you had would’ve gone even worst than how it was.

    Anyway, I am regaining everything as well and though I’m not much of an awesome runner, it feels great having to stride on an additional mileage come after each regardless of the time you get to finish it ( but i’ve got to agree, it’s pretty challenging )

    I haven’t done any marathon and I aim to get into it sometime someday!! I’m not yet ready but of course will work on it! πŸ˜‰

    About that being sleepy, Listen to your body. I had those days and what I did was, I just slept it through, didn’t train for a week and viola! soon as I got back to training I even felt better and my performance at work seemed more focus than feeling like conking out.

    Ahk, I wish I can finish a 5k in 25 minutes! I still couldn’t let go or get out from the 45 minutes ( fine, i did a -5 minutes difference, now 40 minutes ) yet still! Hahaha!! :))

    This is really nice, I get to converse or share insights with someone about running!! wooo! πŸ˜›

  3. btw im envious you finshed your 2 miles in 7-8 minutes, i just tried it and i finished in almost 25 minutes 😦 bummer.

  4. Oh yeah, nike+ is totally awesome it got me more hooked and is training me really badly awesome that it’s making me feel so at guilt when i don’t get to! πŸ˜‰

    You’re still super! πŸ˜›


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

