Devastation And Determination

March 21, 2008 at 12:46 pm | Posted in marathon, running, Training | Leave a comment

Yesterday’s run did not happen. I even tried to move it to this morning but that didn’t work out either.

I got some upsetting news yesterday and I’m still slightly sadded by it.

Let me explain.

When I was sick for 4 months, not able to run, barely able to walk, in and out of the hospital, running was what I missed the most. Running was my life. I missed running the Disney 08 Marathon because of my illness, so the thing that kept  me going was running Disney 09.

I was planning on doing this through Team In Training. The organization means so much to me, and the Disney race was something I’d looked forward to for months. Having to push it back to 09 hurt, but I was still excited.

However yesterday I was informed that Disney will not be offered in my area for 09. I understand, we don’t have a very large Winter Team here and it’s not benifical for the organization to only offer it for a few people. They are, after all, a charity and need to continue towards their mission. I will still be with TNT but leaving Disney behind for now hurts. That was one of the main motivators for me while I was ill.

I’ll do Disney some day…but now I’m clueless about what race to focus on. All of them pale in comparison to Disney. Disney really was my motivator.

Well…I’m going to have to find a new one. Any suggestions?

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

