Running Perspective

March 18, 2008 at 9:53 pm | Posted in marathon, running, Training | Leave a comment

Today’s scheduled run was for 2 miles, and for the first time in a very, very long time I actually got a workout in on a Tuesday. Typically Tuesday’s are my busiest days, but thanks to daylight saving’s I now have extra light after I get home from work.

I packed my running gear and changed and work to make sure I didn’t back out. It’s always harder for me to run in the afternoons than in the mornings.

It was quite gloomy by the time I got to the park, but thankfully it didn’t rain on my run. I got in my two miles and felt pretty good after. It definitely improved my mood!!! I did a loop around the park that runs along the river and the wind was really picking up today. I’m glad I didn’t back out today.

Two miles isn’t much compared to the regular 5 or 6 I used to run…but it’s a good improvement over three months ago when I was confined to the couch. I’ve got to keep that in perspective.

Speaking of perspective, I was reading a newsletter published by a local running group and noticed that they accepted submissions from anyone who wanted to offer one. I’m kind of considering it because I do enjoy writing, AND running…I may email them and see what they think. I’d probably write a piece on my illness and recovery and how thankful I am that I can run…something motivational I guess.

Well, that’s it for now. I’ve got to get some rest because tomorrow’s run will be early in the morning in the gym due to the rain showers moving in to the area.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

