Every Mile A Memory

August 4, 2010 at 11:04 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 5 Comments
Tags: , , ,

Are you ready for a somewhat unbelievable tale? Well buckle up.

So. First off, last night I couldn’t fall asleep. Finally passed out around midnight…but by 3am I was wide awake. Eventually I migrated to the couch and watched TV there until 4:30 when I gave up, wandered the internet, and got ready for my day…which was scheduled to include a 6 mile hike. (Ha. You just wait and see what ACTUALLY happened)

I picked up my friend Jenn around 7:30 and headed down to my parents to meet up with them for our hike. We were heading for Kelly’s Knob which is off the Appalachian Trail.

It looks so serene and nice! Little did we know...

It looks so serene and nice! Little did we know...

The first 2 miles of the hike went fairly well…aside from finding a VERY creepy house which of course we had to go play in.

Seriously? Creepy.

Seriously? Creepy.

Then we moved on to the Laurel Creek Shelter and got slightly confused by the directions on the print out that I’d brought. Eventually we found our way towards the top of the ridge…we wandered for quite some time…with a lot of back tracking…but never found the blue blazed trail that supposedly led to the knob.

However…after we gave up, sat down, and ate lunch…dad ran in to another hiker who said it was about a half a mile further. Mom and dad voted to head back towards the car. I was fine with this since I needed to get back by 6ish anyway.

So…back we went. Dad was a little tired…so Jenn and I forged ahead. We took the car keys and agreed to meet mom and dad at the trailhead with the car. (We had had to park the car at a church about a quarter mile from the trailhead because of the four thousand NO PARKING signs in the field where you picked up this portion of the trail.)

Jenn and I wandered along…FINALLY getting to the bridge that led through a pasture and to the last stile. On our way in, we thought we had seen a donkey in the cute barn on the other side of the pasture. As we approached the bridge, we could see a donkey or two out in the field!

When I got on the bridge, I saw not one, not two, but FOUR minature donkey’s! Jenn and I were highly amused. As were the donkeys.

Aren't they cute?!?! Don't you just want to pet them! Yeah. I'd think twice about that if I were you.

Aren't they cute?!?! Don't you just want to pet them! Yeah. I'd think twice about that if I were you.

The first thing I did was grab a handful of grass to try and see if they would let us get close. One bold donkey came right up and accepted my offering.

And then he proceeded to bite me.

Bit. Me. BIT.

Bit. Me. BIT.

Yes. On the Appalachian Trail, folks, it’s not the bears you need to worry about, it’s the donkeys.

And then he tried to eat my pack.

Seriously...he tried to take it from me.

Seriously...he tried to take it from me.

I played tug-o-war with a donkey for nearly 5 minutes.

Once we were free from the jackasses (sorry…I couldn’t stop myself) we headed for the car. We drove it back, just as mom and dad came over the last stile. I parked near the trail and got out to help Jenn get her stuff situated and to re-arrange mine for the drive back. As I stepped out of the car….and walked towards the rear….I suddenly found myself at eye level with the tires.

I fell in a hole.

Yeah. Instead of getting out of the hole, I tossed Jenn my camera. You're welcome.

Yeah. Instead of getting out of the hole, I tossed Jenn my camera. You're welcome.

Yeah. Didn't get hurt hiking. Got hurt exiting a vehicle.

Yeah. Didn't get hurt hiking. Got hurt exiting a vehicle.

I fell. In a hole. Yes. That’s right. Moments after getting bit by a donkey…I fell in a hole.

It was covered in grass and really deep. Not my fault!!!

It was covered in grass and really deep. Not my fault!!!

So. Once I climbed up out of the lovely ditch, we piled in the car and headed towards food. Since we were all starving, I dug the awesome peanut butter candies I’d bought before the hike out of my purse. I asked Jenn if she’d like a piece of candy. She said she’d love one…and I was about to hand it to her when I squealed and grabbed it back. Jenn’s allergic to nuts. I tried to send her in to anaphylactic shock. At this point…we were all basically delirious…and laughing hysterically.

Now we’ll fast forward to the end of the night…I dropped Jenn off and looked at the increda-scary sky above. When I got back on the interstate to drive home…some of the worst lightening I have EVER seen started. It hit so close, that the hair on my arms stood up right as the bolt hit, and the thunder quickly followed.

I made it to my tiny little town…and was driving down the main road behind another car. I saw the other car slowing down, but I couldn’t tell why, so I slowed down as well. And….that’s when the car disappeared in to a tree. I had a small heart attack and then went through the tree as well.

The tree had fallen across both lanes of the road. It was so large that you couldn’t see if there was traffic on the other side…and it was so dark and rainy, that even going 20 under the speed limit, you couldn’t see the tree until you were right on top of it.

I took a tree to the car. The car in front of me was going quite a bit faster than me and definitely hit the thicker part of the tree. After I exited the roadforest I could see parts of tree coming out of their grill. And mind you I’m still behind them.

I’m fairly sure my car escaped tree-free. If she got a little scratched…it won’t be her first. She’s 10 years old…so…no harm done really.

Overall…it’s been one of the most comical days of my entire life.

So…to recap. Today, on 3 hours of sleep, I hiked 8 miles, fell in a hole, got bit by a donkey, almost sent my friend in to anaphylactic shock, and drove through a tree.

I feel…accomplished.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hahaha. It is like from a jim carrey movie. Goodthing you are safe.

  2. great song choice for the title :)

    and hilarious! can’t wait to see the pictures that go with this :)

  3. Im looking forward to photos :)

  4. I know no one else who could have a day like that… that’s a week’s worth of Courtney-ness packed into not even 24 hours.

  5. Hilarious! Good that you caught so much on camera!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

