A Lot to Drink About

July 8, 2010 at 12:00 pm | Posted in Cross Training | 4 Comments
Tags: , , , , , ,

Not to start this off on a negative note, but the last week and a half has been a little suck-tastic.

I don’t know WHAT is going on with my body, but my stomach has been REALLY angry since the 28th. Every day, usually in the afternoon, it feels like there is an evil gnome trying to launch a cannon ball out of my belly button.

Seriously, it sucks. Some days, it hurts to move. Yesterday, I couldn’t get off the couch. I was in pain for two solid hours. I’m trying to figure out if it’s something I’m eating but MAN it’s awful. I’ve called my GI doctor to make an appointment, but the soonest they can get me in is the second week in August. (For those of you who don’t know, I have Crohn’s)

So. It’s been a little less than awesome, but…I’m trying not to let it slow me down. Let’s move on to fun stuff.

I have gotten a LOT of hiking in. Ashlei and I had a few really awesome hikes, and I’ve met some new friends and have gone hiking with them as well. My favorite so far was a night hike with some star gazing. That was aaaaaaawesome.

I’m mildly afraid of the dark…and the creepy noises in the woods, but it was really fun…even with the freaking bats flying RIGHT OVER MY FACE. I took Tully with us, and he wasn’t a huge fan of the boulder field. :) It’s a little hard for dogs to navigate. I think my friend and I are going to go back without our dogs sometime. I can’t wait. We have a lot in common and a lot of fun together!

The other hike of non-awesomeness involved 13 miles, on a 96 degree day in July, with some of the most INSANE hills/mountains I’ve ever seen.

My friend and I set out around 9am…both of us had packed plenty of water…but by the time we got off the trail at 5pm, we had both ran out. 8 hours, and 13 miles. Not gonna do that again any time soon. Several times we looked at each other and said “What the hell were we thinking??” We went about 6 miles without passing ANYONE. That shows you that you’re the ONLY crazy people out there. Near the end we came to a creek…and I stuck my head in it. I was SO hot. It felt awesome. :)

My new rule of the summer is no hiking between 10am and 4pm unless it involves a body of water that I can submerge myself in.

After the hike…and after I consumed 32oz of gatorade…I had a meeting with my friend and editor Kim. We worked on some spinning stuff. She’s really awesome and I’m learning a TON from her. We’re going to do a dye workshop in August with a very good fiber artist she knows so I’m looking forward to that.

I’ve done a little swimming in the last few weeks, and provided my stomach doesn’t rebel, I may go today. I really want to work on getting ready for a tri soon. Ashlei has picked out a few that she wants to do and I’m probably going to try and do one with her.

OH!!! JO IS COMING!!!!!!!!! I am sooooooo excited. My sister bear is coming up next week!!!! THEN in August she’s going to come do a 5K with me!!!!! Her first 5K right before her hubby comes back from Japan!!!

That’s gonna be a helluva fun week. I get my sister bear up here with me!!!!! SO EXCITED.

I’m heading home tomorrow for a little over a week, so that’s going to be nice. I’m house sitting at one of my favorite places in the world and I can’t wait to be there and relax! This house is seriously awesome. If I ever get to design my own house, a lot of the ideas and inspiration will come from this place. It’s SO beautiful.

Other than that, not a lot of news. Tully is doing pretty good. We’re starting a new diet for him that hopefully will take care of some of his doggy issues like bad breath and stuff. I’ll keep you guys posted and tell you more about it next time…but for now, I’ve gotta go pack. I’ll leave you with some pics from the past few weeks!

Sunset over Devil's Marble Yard

Sunset over Devil's Marble Yard

I LOVE MY PUPPY!!!!

I LOVE MY PUPPY!!!!

Tully looking over Carvin's Cove

Tully looking over Carvin's Cove

Have a good one! :)

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. hiking sounds like so much fun! i need to start carving out some time for it. and i hope your stomach starts behaving a bit. sounds very painful and uncomfortable

  2. Star gazing! ooooohh! <3 lol

    I've been swimming a bit too but need to start increasing my running more! Been doing 5-6mi runs lately! Yay!!! Probably going to do a little swimming in the morning. I can do the laps just not non-stop….yet!

  3. Sorry about your stomach, sounds like the fun I’ve been having for the last week thanks to a bug going around. Not fun running and working out with it.

    Love the hikes, I’m looking forward to getting in more hiking and trail running time here.

  4. loving your adventure! :)


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

