Dragon Attack

June 18, 2010 at 9:40 pm | Posted in Cross Training | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Know what isn’t awesome?

Dropping a FULL thing of Stonyfield’s yummy yogurt on my shoes.

Yogurt Shoes!

Yogurt Shoes!

So they had to go for a spin in the washer…and what better to do with freshly cleaned hiking shoes??? GO HIKING!

Today I hiked up Dragon’s Tooth and………

Um ok we have to take a quick side-trip of AWESOMENESS.

GUESS WHAT?!?!?!

I just won the giveaway from The Crooked Stitch!!!! OH MY GOSH!!!!!!!! It’s a basket o’goodies and I can’t WAIT to see what’s in it!!! Dani and Whitney have an awesome shop…I love EVERYTHING in that store, so whatever it is, I’m going to be THRILLED. Something tells me it will contain some of Natasha’s handpainted yarns…which just makes it the thrill of my LIFETIME!!!!!! Oh freaking great. Holy crap. I’ll be picking the goodies up on Tuesday…so I will let you guys know just HOW awesome it is then!

Ok. Now that my day has been totally kick-ass….back to the blog.

I did a quick run up Dragon’s Tooth to take care of my little geocache! A friend from the Roanoke Outdoor and Social Club went with me. We blasted through the trail to the top…and took a slight detour that’s a somewhat less beaten path.

I climbed that. Yeeeeah.

I climbed that. Yeeeeah.

Up. That.

It was AWESOME. Yay for climbing!!!

Then we found some blueberries at the top, talk about yummy! So then…we found our way back to the real trail, and located my cache! It…was really sad. It was filled with trash and random junk. But now…it’s much better!

All better! Lots of new goodies, updated log, no trash! YAY!

All better! Lots of new goodies, updated log, no trash! YAY!

A little present for the thru-Hiker Ashlei and I met awhile back!

A little present for the thru-Hiker Ashlei and I met awhile back!

So then after wandering around a bit, I finally found a good spot *I hope* to hide my cache!

All hidden away!

All hidden away!

So we headed off back down the trail.

I love this picture. He looks SO confused and lost...but really he was surprised to turn mid-sentance and see me with a camera.

I love this picture. He looks SO confused and lost...but really he was surprised to turn mid-sentance and see me with a camera.

So…then we decided to climb the smaller tooth! I’d not realized it was climb-able…but it so totally is! It was AWESOME. I think I like climbing…because it’s like a puzzle.

A puzzle where if you don’t get it right the first time, you wind up seriously injured…or dead.

Hehe. Puzzles.

The view looking down the smaller tooth. What we climbed DOWN. Hehe.

The view looking down the smaller tooth. What we climbed DOWN. Hehe.

I come from the rocks!!! Ashlei-style!!!!

I come from the rocks!!! Ashlei-style!!!!

So that was the hike of awesomness.

The dog is getting better at not barking his head off when I leave the house…however he still REALLY doesn’t like other people taking him out of his crate. He’s terrified. It seems like he thinks they will take him away from me. :( Poor guy.

Tomorrow we’re going hiking at the Cascades…then I’m doing a 5K in Blacksburg! If I get time I’m going to take him to a fenced in location…with SUPER high prison-type security fencing…and let him off the leash and see if he’ll come to me.

Supposedly he’s a fence jumper, and will NOT come if he gets loose. So…I’m going to test that in a controlled environment tomorrow. So far, he REALLY seems to like to stay right beside me…so I’m hoping he keeps that up and becomes a little more capture-able if he gets loose.

So anyway, have a great weekend! Watch for my race report Sunday!!! And then next weekend? NEXT WEEKEND?!?!?! ASHLEI IS COMING FOR THE WHOLE WEEKEND!!!!!!!!!!!! I am beyond excited. Beyond.

Dear Summer,
You freaking rock.
Love,
~Courtney

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Haha you left a present for Spoon!! I hope they make their way up there and find the cache!! I can’t wait to see your giveaway stuff you won!! That’s such an awesome prize :)

    Next weekend is going to be awesome!! Yay!!!

  2. another adventure! :) Hi Courtney!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

