We Are…

April 15, 2010 at 4:09 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags: , ,

We are the Hokies.

We will prevail.
We will prevail.
We will prevail.

We are Virginia Tech.

              ~Nikki Giovanni

There aren’t words to describe how the events of April 16, 2007 changed my life.

It’s not just the fact that it happened at my school. It happened in my home town. You never expect these things to happen…especially not at school, and especially not in your town. For me, it was both.

When you see these school shootings and things…we hear about how it’s changed the school, the students, the faculty…but it changes the community too.

This random act of violence shook not just a school, not just a community, not just a country, but the world. The world as a whole stopped, and looked right here, at Blacksburg, Virginia. My hometown.

Standing on the drillfield at the candelight vigil…I can’t put in to words what that felt like. I will never, ever forget that night. I can’t ever forget that day. And we will never forget those lost.

It has changed me, as a person. It has made me a lot more thankful for the people in my life. It’s made me thankful for my own life. I thought I knew what it was to be thankful before…but it takes on a whole new meaning. You see these things on the news…but until it hits close to home, it never really sinks in.

I’m thankful for my friends, my family, all of my loved ones. I’m thankful for my life, and my abilities. I’m so thankful for my ability to run. Tomorrow I will run 3.2 miles. 3.2 for the 32 victims. There is a 3.2 mile race tomorrow at Virginia Tech but I won’t be able to attend, but I’ll still do my 3.2.

If anyone else out there would like to join in, I’d love to do an online “run” with anyone who wants to! Feel free to bike 32 miles, or 3.2…whatever works for you. Maybe 32 laps in the pool.

If you do join in, please leave me a comment here so I know!

 

We are Virginia Tech.

 

I decided to hold off on the rest of the regular post stuff until Saturday, so check back then for the continuation of my birthday post.
Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

