Gimmie Stitches

February 28, 2010 at 5:31 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 5 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

So…who missed me?!?!?

I’ve had an interesting two weeks. Last weekend I went home for the first time in about a month so I was semi-busy…and then this past week, well, you can guess what happened from the title.

Yep. I got stitches. But more on that later. Let’s get started.

Knitting Week:

********************** Edit *********************

I almost forgot!!! I taught 2 people to knit this week!!! 2!!!!!

One was the bestest, Carly. We went to my LYS, Crooked Stitch, and got her all squared away. She’s working on a lovely scarf out of aplaca. Since she’s the best friend, I couldn’t let her start on cheap yarn. I bought her some bamboo needles and we sat together and knit Thursday night.

Then one of the assistants for a teacher in my department wanted to learn, so I brought her some of my old metal needles and a skein of cheap caron yarn. She was thrilled and I got her on her way as well!

YAY!!!!

****************************End Edit******************************

Ohhh so much knitting!!!! So much “fibery goodness” as Meghan would say. Last weekend while I was at home, I visited my former LYS, Mosaic. I was absolutley fed UP with the scarf I had been trying to knit my aunt. It was her Christmas present…and if you will recall I only managed to finish 2 of the 4 projects for family presents. Her scarf darn near drove me insane. So I decided I needed new yarn.

I also wanted new circular needles for sock knitting. I was frustrated with the DPN’s, and really just wanted to get my OTHER aunt’s socks *also a Christmas present* FINISHED. And started, for that matter.

Well I’d started them 4 times but…yeah.

So, Mosaic, being the wonderful yarn shop that it is…had just what I needed. I bought some hand dyed yarn by Unplanned Peacock. The fiber artist actually lives near me and I’ve met her at a knitting circle so I was super excited to support her.

I grabbed up a beautiful skein in her Flamingo colorway and got to knitting on Monday. Over the weekend I FINISHED the scarf (HAHA!) and it’s currently blocking in my bathroom. The yarn was REALLY springy…even though it was 200 yards…the scarf was only about 3.5ft before I blocked it. But now it’s around 6! And DONE! FINALLY!! It should be dry and ready to go in the mail to my aunt by tomorrow.

Scarf pre-blocking

Scarf pre-blocking

The socks…or sock, rather, is on the needles and progressing nicely. I’ve also decided to repurpose the yarn from the previous scarf attempt. I’m going to make Bella’s Mittens for my cousin who LOVES Twilight and knitting.

So far, so good on the socks!!

So far, so good on the socks!!

In other knitting news, I’m going to do a review of a yarn store I visited this weekend!!! I’m going to try and add more reviews in to the blog…so here’s this week’s!

Review:

This week’s review is of Gate City Yarns in Greensboro, NC. Gate City Yarns is located in a lovely section of Greensboro. I would say it’s downtown, but I’ve never been to Greensboro before so I’m not sure exactly what section of town one would consider it’s location to be.

The shop has a lovely window display of yarn, fiber, and some unique metal artwork. It’s a really beautiful storefront. I was immediately excited.

Hello Yarn Store!!

Hello Yarn Store!!

Upon entering, I nearly squealed because the first thing you see in the store, is shelves of FIBER and SPINNING WHEELS ON TOP!!! Oh I was thrilled. I nearly threw myself in to the bags of fibery goodness.

Anyone want to donate to the "Buy Courtney a Spinning Wheel fund? Anyone?"

Anyone want to donate to the "Buy Courtney a Spinning Wheel fund? Anyone?"

I learned that the fiber was from a local farm and I believe it was hand dyed.

Of course I had to buy some. I got a lovely blue green corriedale, about 7oz. The staff was wonderfully helpful and friendly. I would love for Gate City to be my LYS! They also had a “store mascot”, a very sweet dog named Reese. He greeted the customers in a very calm and polite manner. He wasn’t overly friendly, and didn’t come right up to sniff you. You more or less had to invite him over or come to him. Perfect manners for a yarn store dog!

Mmmm I can't wait to spin this!!!

Mmmm I can't wait to spin this!!!

Hello, sock yarn. How I love thee.

Hello, sock yarn. How I love thee.

I’m a firm beliver that yarn stores should have mascots or animals of some sort in them. :)

In addition to all the spinning goodies, Gate City had a lot of lovely yarns. I ended up buying some sock yarn from a company I hadn’t seen before. They really had a great selection and it was beautifully displayed and organized.

Gate City also had a very wide array of needles, hooks, drop spindles, hand cards, and other fiber work goodies. They really catered to every area of fiber work! It was wonderful!

I hope I get to go back to Gate City Yarns next time I’m in Greensboro. I really loved that store!

Running Week:

Well, there hasn’t really been any running to speak of since…last week sometime. I was doing push-ups and planks daily, up until Wednesday…and therefore we will skip the running, and visit our special section this week….the……..

Injury Report:

***squemish beware. Skip to “Favorite” if you have issues with blood***:

Well folks, I did a number on myself. Let me tell you, gravity has it IN for me!!!!

Wednesday morning I was preparing to go for work…and was running a tad late. I guess I was in a hurry and opened my car door with a little too much force, because as I bent down to get in my car, the door came back at me and caught me in the back of my head, slamming my forehead in to the frame of my car.

Yes, essentially I slammed my entire head in a car door.

The force was sufficent to knock me down, in to the car, half in and half out. I reeled for a minute and said to myself “WOW that hurt”. Then I touched my hand to my forehead…and it came back QUITE bloody. Then…the blood started to pour.

I decided the best plan was to get myself to the ER as quickly as possible. Since I live in the middle of nowhere, my best option was to get my neighbor to give me a ride because…the amount of blood seemed a bit much and I didn’t think I should drive. My neighbors were still sleeping as this was 6:45am. I pounded on their door until they woke up and came out.

When they opened the door I think they both almost screamed. They thought I had been shot because at this point, I was splattered with blood everywhere, and attempting to hold my head closed with my hand. I told them I’d hit my head on my car and could they please drive me to the ER and possibly give me a towel as well.

At this point, I decided sitting or laying down was best, so I laid down on the patio outside their house while they grabbed me a towel and got dressed. While laying on the patio, I called school and informed them that there was NO possible way I would be in that day. Given the fact I had left a trail of blood from my car to the neighbors door, and a substantial puddle in front of their house, I figured staying home would be a good plan.

So…my neighbor grabbed my purse from my car, and threw me in her truck and drove me the 20 minutes to the hospital. I laughed most of the way. I mean really, I FAILED at getting in a car. I hit my head not once, but TWICE.

By the time we got to the ER, I had bled through all layers of the bathroom towel…and the ER receptionist quickly got me a wheelchair and within 5 minutes of our arrival I was in a bed being cleaned up by a nurse.

This is the LEAST bloody picture of the towel. I soaked it...

This is the LEAST bloody picture of the towel. I soaked it...

Before Wednesday, I was unaware that head wounds bleed a lot. I am now very aware of that fact. I have never seen so much blood in my LIFE.

See why they thought I was shot? Blood EVERYWHERE!

See why they thought I was shot? Blood EVERYWHERE!

So I ended up with 6 stitches. My very FIRST stitches, and a tetanus shot. So I had a knot in the back of my head, and in the front, stitches, and a sore arm from the shot. Thankfully no concussion.

My poor head...

My poor head...

By the time I got to school Thursday, my kids had made up some WILD stories about what had happened to me, and I think they had had me die in about 4 of the stories. Good times.

But I’m healing…I guess…and enjoying sporting a wide variety of colorful bandaids in the meantime.

Moving on.

Favorite:

This week’s favorite is The Palm restaurant. Wow. Let me tell you…I could get accustomed to a lifestyle that includes occasional visits to that place.

I went to NC for the weekend with a friend to visit their family and celebrate their mom’s birthday. Her birthday dinner was at The Palm. It was AMAZING. I had filet mingnon, and also tried my very first lobster!! It was wonderful. I am offically a fan of lobster.

There were also some amazing 3 cheese potatoes, fried asparagus, and creme brulee and tiramisu for dessert!

So, if you ever get the chance for a very special occasion, visit a Palm restaurant. You WON’T be dissappointed.

Other Junk:

As I mentioned, this weekend I went to NC. I hit some great geocaches on the way down. I would have done more, but the cold got to me and I gave up. But every cache I looked for, I found! That’s a first I think!!

Pretty cool building near a cache.

Pretty cool building near a cache.

Then in Greensboro I watched my friend’s brothers lacrosse game with the family. That was really fun. I’d never been to a lacrosse game before and I really enjoyed it. (Yes, I knit through the entire game) We’re going to go down again and watch another…hopefully in warmer weather!

I also got to go to Bass Pro while in NC so that was fabulous.

Other than that…not much to report given the head injury and all. Next weekend I do have a 5K so watch for that report!!!

So-Far-Away Shoutout:

This week’s shoutout is to Lesley. I miss you so very much!!!! Lesley and I went to grad school together and she’s…oh probably 14 hours north of me. We did a half marathon together around this time last year and I really miss running with her!

I actually got to talk to her today for the first time in probably 6 months. We have decided to make Sunday our weekly phone call day so we can keep in touch. I’m super excited for next Sunday already!

MISS YOU LESLEY!!!!

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Ow, ow, ow! So sorry that happened to you! Glad you are okay and feeling better. Yeeowch!

  2. Ouch! Looks like some pain!

  3. omg!! that sounds terrible (and obviously was a terrible experience)! glad youre okay. head wounds definitely bleed the most and the blood just gets *everywhere*

  4. Wow what a week you have had! Awful knock to your head! :(:(:( sounds like your trips have been good, WTG on your knitting progress! YAY!

    PS I made Bella’s Mittens; lovely and I cannot wait to make another pair!!!

  5. Ouch, Courtney! Glad to know you’re okay, and now you have some battle wounds! (Just tell people you tripped over a root while running, lol)

    Nice knitting stuff going on, too. It’s always fun to watch someone learn to knit, and it must have been fun to help them start.
    I really want to finish all my winter knitting projects, I feel like it’s my “spring cleaning” of sorts. UGHUGH!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

