Crash

April 23, 2009 at 10:04 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

 Back it up, back it up
You got it, you got it
Put your hands up, put your hands up
You got it, you got it
Drive back baby to me fast in your car
I’m here waiting, crash into me real hard

Well. I crashed. Hard. Like…in to a very solid object kind of hard. I didn’t have it. I kind of already had my hands up…and there was a car involved.

What was I attempting to do, you ask? Oh…just attempting to balance like any normal 12 year old is fully capable of doing.

I was trying to get my water bottle, drink it, and put it back while biking.

I failed. Miserably.

Did I mention I haven’t been biking that long? And um…I’m NOT very good at it…

OH!!!!!! And did I also mention I have a triathlon this Sunday that involves 15 miles of biking!?!??!! YEAH!!!!!!!!!!

So…I tried to drink…and…well I managed to get the bottle out, take a sip, but replacing it was where things went awry. I had to choose between pavement and a parked car…and I was in no way capable of hitting the breaks. And I was going downhill…so…I toppled over. And skidded along the ground. Twas awesome.

The rest of the damage is in the form of some awesome road rash on my elbow…

Also, I realized I forgot to update you on my birthday festivities. :) I turned the big 2-5 on Easter. Here are some of the highlights real quick.

The evil, evil boyfriend thought giving me a present and putting a note on it that said DO NOT TOUCH would be fun. You have no idea how hard things like that are for me…and probably for most girls….and 4 year olds. :) I mean…PRESENT….leave alone!?!?! NEVER!!!!!!!!!!

I was a wee bit excited when I discovered what was inside. Tickets to UT’s season opener. The football game of my dreams with my favorite team ever…my very first college football game. Yeah. I’m 25. I go to a major football school…but it’s not MY team. MY team is UT. And I refused to have my first college game anywhere but Neyland. Labor Day weekend. Yeah buddy. :) :) :)

The other best present ever. From my daddy. This is the grill off his tractor. The tractor…well…it crashed too. So before we parted it out, I told dad I wanted the grill. That tractor is the very first thing I learned to drive. I sat on dad’s lap. That tractor has always been a symbol of my dad…and that grill meant everything to me. And now the tractor is gone…but I’ve got what matters. My memories. And my grill.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO MEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!

Ok. Back on track now.

Tuesday night at the tri meeting…I got to be close to a dream of mine.

That. Is a Boston Marathon medal. I got to TOUCH a Boston medal. I know someone who RAN BOSTON. If you run…then you KNOW what I’m talking about. I mean…BOSTON. It’s the Holy Grail. It’s the Big Dance. It’s the Superbowl. It’s BOSTON. And I touched it. Mmmmmmm Boston.

And speaking of Boston…TiVo missed tivoing it. If I could punish a box of electronic components and computer chips…I so would. But alas…TiVo doesn’t understand why I’m mad…and unplugging it will only make things worse and cause me to reset the entire system…but still. I’m very upset about this matter.

But life goes on. And bikes will crash, tivo’s will fail, and Boston will still be Boston.

Tomorrow…I’m getting back on the bike. Oh, and for the record, after crashing and cleaning up, I went back out for another 25 minutes and stayed upright! YAY!!! I’m going to try for 8 miles tomorrow…get some good hills in because I hear the tri course is HILLY. Then…hold on tight and wait for Sunday. I talked to my trainer after my crash as well and she REALLY helped. She said she’s seen plenty of people get off the bike, and PUSH it up a hill. That really helped. So if I need a drink, gosh darnit I’m pulling over!!! Time doesn’t matter to me. Keeping my blood in my body does.

I’m assuming it’s going to be rough. I’m hoping for some adreniline…and I’m going to give it my best. There will be pictures. Lots.

So in Knitting News…I tried to recycle a sweater…Went to Goodwill…grabbed a good sweater with the proper seaming for unravling…

And set about trying to properly cut it and unravel…

Fail. Big fail. Good news is that I bought more than one sweater and next week I’ll be wandering to knitting group for recycling help!!!

Now let’s throw some shoutouts in….

One for Trainer…seriously, you made EVERYTHING better today. You have no idea how much you helped.

One for Kim…thanks for making my kid’s day better by making fun of me. Seriously, that rocks.

And one for Dr. Physics!!! I hear you saw my momma today and it appears as though you may occasionally stop by my blog…which ROCKS!!!!!!!!!!! HI DR PHYSICS!!!!!!!!! If you read this, I STILL MISS PHYSICS CLASS!!!!! :) Best. Professor. EVER!!!!!!!

Well, let’s all give three cheers for me updating when I said I would!!! The next time you’ll hear from me will be after the tri!!!!!!!!!!! EVERYONE KEEP YOUR FINGERS CROSSED!!!!!!!!!!

Oh. And after the tri….the REAL training starts!!!!!!!!!!!

 

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Ow! Hope its healed!

    Happy belated bday! Its good to know there are other good bloggers with april bdays


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

