It’s A Great Day To Be Alive

January 19, 2009 at 1:12 pm | Posted in Cross Training, Music, running, Training | 1 Comment
Tags: , , , , , ,

Super awesome wonderful day!!!!!!!!!!!!

For starters, this is what I woke up to…

Awesomeness. SNOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! SO EXCITED!!!!!!!!!!!

However I was also uber sad because my precious Ipod had been missing for 2 whole days!!!!!!!!! The last time I distinctly remember seeing it was Wednesday when I ran…so after tearing my car apart 3 times, my basket it normally goes in…I even looked under the couch in case the cat had seen it and decided it was a fun toy….I pulled all the cushions out of the couch to see if somehow it had slipped out of my purse….I looked under my desk…in pockets of pants and jackets…….

EVERYWHERE. I looked EVERYWHERE. I was depressed for the entire day yesterday because A) It was icy and I couldn’t run…and B) I only slept 4 hours and there was no way I could get 6 miles in on 4 hours of sleep….

So today…with the snow…I decided I was going running regardless…but I had to look one more time. And I did. Nothing. So I laid down for a second and watched the boyfriend play wii while I tried to remember where I last saw my ipod.

And where did I last have it? When I was buying yarn for a certain penguin hat…

And WHERE did I find my ipod?!?!?! In my knitting basket in the bag with the penguin hat yarn!!!!!!!!!!! YAY IPOD!!!!!!!!!!

Snow AND the ipod…perfect.

There was just enough snow to coat everything in white, but not so much that I couldn’t get out and drive to the park.

There’s the start of the trail where I started my 6 miles.

Here’s one of my favorite parts of the trail, right as it enters the woods. It always makes me smile.

The trail winds a mile through the woods, then up and hill and over and down in to the other park. There’s a 2 mile loop around that park so I did that twice, then back up and over the hill for a total of 6 miles. I had fun doing the loop twice. Normally it’s boring but with the snow I could try to run in my own footprints or someone else’s. I really enjoyed it.

I took Uri with me. He LOVED the snow. He ran and ran and ran. Normally he sniffs everything but he just had a blast running today.

Here’s what my view looked like for the majority of the run.

Hehe. Fun times.

So we did our 6 miles…and I wore my trail shoes because I figured…snow…little ice as well from yesterday…might need extra traction. It worked and I didn’t slide once, BUT…I did discover that the trail shoes, although new…kind of pull apart on the side…near the ball of my foot…and there’s a little crack created between the side of the shoe and the sole…and the edge of my foot gets shoved down in there when I run…and after 4 or 5 miles….NOT fun.

And after 6? Big blisters and a red/purple blood blister…niiiiice.

So. Gonna wear comfy shoes the rest of the day and ice my calves because they are on FIRE.

Overall…I’m having one of the best days of my break ever. Even though school starts tomorrow….I’m having an AWESOME week so far. :)

YAY 6!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. 6! Awesome! And damn the penguin hat for stealing your ipod. Did I forget to mention it comes to life and steals your sh*t? My bad…


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

