In The Still Of The Night

November 1, 2008 at 11:22 pm | Posted in 5k, running, Training | 3 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

In the shadow of night
I see the full moon rise
Telling me what’s in store,
My heart starts aching
My body started shaking
And I can’t take no more, no, no

Hehe. The Into The Darkness 4 Miler was tonight!!!!! WOOT!!!!!!!!!

This is the Blue Ridge Parkway on the way to the course.

Photobucket

The race started at 7pm. Mountain Junkies (http://www.mountainjunkies.net/) always does an amazing job. They are almost ALWAYS on time and the shirts and shwag are top notch. The race director and his wife are amazing. They are really motivational and they take good care of their runners!!! For example…this is a trail run…on mountain biking and jeep trails….in the woods….lots of tough terrain…and what did they do? They spent a whole heck of a lot of time going over that 4 miles of trail, blowing all the LEAVES OFF THE TRAILS SO WE WOULDN’T GET LOST!!!!!!!!

Not to mention the reflective arrows, the glow sticks, and the glowing dot thingies they put out everywhere so no one would get off course.

Seriously. Cleaned the TRAILS FOR US!!! Now that’s service.

So anyway…it was a pretty rough trail. I did better than I expected considering I did NOT expect some of those hills. I ended up leading 4 guys for awhile. It was pretty fun to just run through the woods, enjoying the pace, not really trying to kill myself…but MAN I started fast. I wish I’d had a watch to see my splits. But anyway, chilled with those guys for awhile. I was in front so it was my job to shout if there was an obstacle up ahead…and quite frequently I wouldn’t SEE the obstacle…but my right foot would FIND it…and I’d slip a little. I think I tweaked a little something in my right calf/ankle…I’m currently RICEing it as I write this.

Finally towards the end I did have to slow up some…especially on that last major hill that this particular course is KNOW for…Every race at this place ends with this hill….and I loathe this hill. Abhor even.

So anyway, finished in around 45:00. Decent…especially considering that I was NOT expecting the terrain to be as rough as it was. I’ve raced at this location before but never this race. WHEW.

Here’s me right after the race.

Photobucket

And here are some of the people gathered at the finish.

Photobucket

Went inside, had some goodies. They had quite the spread. Pasta, pumpkin bread, rice krispy treats, apples, candy. Good times. Not to mention all the free energy drinks you could carry. Ha ha. Gotta love Mountain Junkies!!!

So then they did their door prizes and then it was time for awards. I was pretty sure I was out of the running…until I heard the top overall females. I was less than 10min behind the 3rd place female!!! Wow…so I got a little excited…hoping for 3rd but betting I was just out of it in 4th.

So Josh got to the 20-24 year old females…..and WHO got first?!?!?!?!

THIS GIRL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I mean REALLY!!!! Awesomness. Just AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

So not only did I have an amazing time running through the woods in the dark…but I GOT FIRST IN MY AGE GROUP!!!! And have I mentioned the rockin awards that Mountain Junkies prides themselves on? This time it was wooden plaques that Josh and Gina made!!! She said she spent weeks painting. Ha ha.

Seriously, amazing time.

Gina, me (with my award!!!) and Josh!

Photobucket

Trail running at night….AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

<3 IT!!!

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Wow! clap! Clap! :)

  2. Congrats!!! It sounds like you had an amazing time.

  3. Sorry bout the crazy late comment, catchin up on my blogs. AWESOME JOB!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

